How to eliminate Speaker Pop on new stereo install

Posted by: Dolph

How to eliminate Speaker Pop on new stereo install - 30/03/14 05:01 PM

Hey guys. This is my first post on the forum, and I was hoping somebody might be able to help me with a problem I've encountered:

I recently installed a Pioneer AVH-X5600BHS head unit in my 2002 Xterra SE. The install went off without a hitch, and everything works properly... except when I turn the vehicle off. Immediately following my vehicle turning off, the speakers make a "pop." It's not an outrageously loud pop or anything, but it's definitely noticeable. Now, I did a lot of research on my own about how to fix it and what causes it, but I am far from an expert when it comes to these things, and obviously, I wasn't able to figure it out. So here's hoping that one of you can help! :-)

Now, it's probably important to mention that this Xterra has the stock fosgate amplifier hooked up. And therein I think lies the problem... From what I've read online, it sounds like the amp is staying on longer than the HU and that's what is causing the pop. (Please correct me if I'm wrong with my assessment) My problem is: how do I fix it? The only thing I was able to find online that seemed like it might be worth a **** is this:

2.2 My system "pops" when I turn it off. What is happening and how can I get rid of it? [JD]

This kind of problem is often caused by transients in the signal processor as it powers down finding their way into the signal path, which the amplifier then transmits to the speakers.
Usually this can be solved by adding a little turn-off delay to the processor. This allows the processor to stay powered on for a short time after the amplifiers have powered down, thus preventing the pop.