Sup from Mount Laurel

Posted by: Anonymous

Sup from Mount Laurel - 12/11/07 01:50 PM

Hey guys! Just about 45 mins from LBI to get somewhat of a location of where I am. I pass throught the pineys to get there obv and kayak and all that in chattsworth. As of now my truck is all stock and alot of ppl on this site have so much advanced stuff but we're in NJ. So i was wonderin mod wise what I should get. I cant afford a sick bumper since I'm a college student but I need somewhat insurance on the front end there so I want to get a brush guard. But what else do I need for this area? Where can I wheel that isn't too crazy?

Re: Sup from Mount Laurel - 12/11/07 03:47 PM

[Uh Oh !] No brush guard.

Re: Sup from Mount Laurel - 12/11/07 05:41 PM

everyone always says that here.. I haven't seen any proof where a brush guard has actually folded in on itself. Why not? I cant afford much right now. I'm in college with a low income.

Re: Sup from Mount Laurel - 12/11/07 05:57 PM

Heres one of the myriad of pictures on XOC of brushgaurd damage..

Re: Sup from Mount Laurel - 12/11/07 05:58 PM

Posted by: Stonecoldchavez

Re: Sup from Mount Laurel - 12/11/07 07:06 PM

Better tires too handle the mud, snow, etc. of New Jersey weather; cannot go wrong with the BFG A/T's. 32" are the biggest you can do with no form of lift, be it body or suspension.

Then if you want to do the PML (Poor Man's Lift), which since you are college, is right up your alley. You can get a set of rear shackles for around $50, which will give you about 1.5" of lift in the back. To compensate for the front, you can/will need to crank up your front torsion bars 1.5".

Once you have more $$$$ and confidence in your ability, you can get what are called sliders. They are metal protection for you rocker panels. They basically cover from the front door to the back door from rocks, debris, etc.

The Pine Barrens is a perfect place to learn with minimal damage, other than scratches.

S.