Skid Plates

Posted by: Shrock

Skid Plates - 26/03/05 02:47 PM

OK here is a chance to impact what products are available on the market. Want to get your thoughts on a couple things. This is in regards to underbody skid plates.

1.) How many of you would prefer to rattle can them your self and save $20 - $25 per plate ($80- $100 for a full set)

2.) For those of you who would prefer not to paint them yourself, would you rather a have them yellow zinc plated or black powder coated? Zinc plated skids could always be rattle can painted black for extra protection. Assume same price for now.
Posted by: TJ

Re: Skid Plates - 26/03/05 03:00 PM

I've had bare plates and black powder coated plates, between the two, good powder coating worked better, bad powder coating sucked.

I have no experience with yellow zinc plating....could you describe the differences/advantages/disadvantages?

laugh

Re: Skid Plates - 26/03/05 03:44 PM

Yellow zinc is the finish typically found on grade 8 bolts. It's zinc plating with a yellow chromate added for additional protection.

Here is a pic of a yellow zinc chain:

Posted by: RI Xterra

Re: Skid Plates - 26/03/05 03:57 PM

I'd take em un-painted..

They're only gonna get banged up anyways... wink
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Skid Plates - 26/03/05 04:12 PM

I would go unpainted also. Rattle can is easy.

Re: Skid Plates - 26/03/05 04:40 PM

Geez Jim, your a few days to late. I just put full skids on my truck, and I paint everthing blue or yellow. I would have liked to have them zinc plated first to help keep off the rust with all the salt here. I would definatly go for zinc plated,

Zinc plate the rear bumper when it comes out. It would make me happy!

Re: Skid Plates - 26/03/05 05:04 PM

For a skid plate I would rather use a rattle can for easy touch ups.

As long as it would take to have 3/16" steel rust through, it's not really an issue for me.
Posted by: Xorand

Re: Skid Plates - 26/03/05 06:36 PM