2002 Door Opening Trim
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:32 PM
XOC Still Lives
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:31 PM
Shout Box

Who's Online
1 registered (Tom), 67 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#100005 - 05/05/05 02:45 PM Info on shackle installation
Anonymous
Unregistered

I want to add a little height to my truck and have read a few threads about adding stronger shackles to the rear and cranking the torsion bars in front to even things out. Does everyone who has them buy Calmini or is there something better? Also, is there any other mods/replacements that you guys would recommend while I'm under there? (i.e. what oem parts should be replaced because they're crap?). Thanks for any insight. I'm just getting into off-roading and trying to learn as much as I can from you guys as I can.

#100006 - 05/05/05 03:24 PM Re: Info on shackle installation
Anonymous
Unregistered

I put the Calmini's on mine -- it was easy. After getting a bunch of input from this board, I went with them to keep the stock-ish rake that the truck had before.

Lots of threads on how to do this, but the best tips I got out of them were to drop the spare out of the way first, loosen the exhaust system hangers and use the stock jack to push the spring down so you can fit the new shackle in place.

I din't have any trouble loosening the bolts, but others who have reccomend spraying them with penetrating oil first and letting it sit overnight.

Hope this helps.

#100007 - 05/05/05 03:25 PM Re: Info on shackle installation
Anonymous
Unregistered

Sorry, to clarify, I went with the Calminis, which give about 1.5" lift vs. the SLR models, which can be had in 1" or 2" lifts.

#100008 - 05/05/05 05:36 PM Re: Info on shackle installation
Anonymous
Unregistered