shrockworks xterraparts
XOC Decal
Newest Members
Glim, ChossWrangler, Patman, ChargedX, Randy Howerton
10084 Registered Users
Recent Posts
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 60 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#181086 - 04/06/01 06:41 PM Switching to 4WD
X_Dmouse Offline

Loc: Jacksonville, Florida
Stupid question, but I'm new to 4wd vehicles. How do you switch to 4wd. In my step dad's old truck he had to put the truck in neutral then shift it to 4wd then back up a few feet to lock the hubs. do you have to do anything like this in the X?

Thanks

X_Dmouse
Mike

------------------

He who laughs last, thinks slowest.

#181087 - 04/06/01 06:59 PM Re: Switching to 4WD
silverxglider Offline

Loc: Andes, NY
The X has autolocking hubs. Pull the 4WD shift lever straight back with a decisive movement and just drive away. At least, that's all you do for the manual, don't know about the auto. You only have to go a few feet in the opposite direction when you want to unlock the hubs.

The owner's manual describes the procedure rather well.

------------------

#181088 - 05/06/01 12:40 AM Re: Switching to 4WD
Kerensky97 Offline

Loc: Utah
When you pull the 4by shifter there's a kind of loud clunk that scares you to death at first, but its just the transfer case shifting. I don't shift to 4hi in motion just because I want to baby the gears in the transfer case but it can be done while moving if you just yank it quickly into place. If it grinds (X never has, Path did all the time) just pull a little harder so the teeth will mesh.

------------------
2000 Silver Ice V6 4x4 3pak
"People demand freedom of speech as a compensation for the freedom of thought which they seldom use."

Xterra101.com

#181089 - 05/06/01 09:29 AM Re: Switching to 4WD
X_Dmouse Offline