shrockworks xterraparts
XOC Decal
Newest Members
Glim, ChossWrangler, Patman, ChargedX, Randy Howerton
10084 Registered Users
Recent Posts
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 108 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#208507 - 29/04/03 01:55 PM Nissan SARS discrimination!
jinx Offline

Loc: The T-dot! Ontario
For those who dont know me, I am a Paramedic, and I'm from Toronto, which at the moment is going through a international crisis with this SARS issue. The media has made a storm about it, so we will be feeling the repercussions from this for a long time. Below is an incident that occurred to a fellow bros of mine. What is your take on this everyone? what now?

[edited to leave out specifics]

Today I was going downtown to do some shopping when my car broke down. As luck would have it the car broke down in front of Nissan. Since my car is a 2001 Nissan I was in the perfect place.

I was able to get the car started long enough to get it into the service bay at the dealer. I explained the situation to the service advisor and then they started to assess the car.

Shortly thereafter I went into the garage to speak to the mechanic. As I approached the mechanic who was working on my car I noticed that he was starting to back away from me. His coworker who was also near the car started to back away. I thought this was kind of odd.

Just then the mechanic asked if I was a paramedic. Realizing that I had my jacket in the back seat I replied that I was. The mechanic then aksed me to
leave the building. He stated that they did not want me in there cause I was a paramedic and that he was scared of "catching something from me". I
was shellshocked, dismayed and for the first time in my life embarassed to be a medic.

I stated that I was clean and that I followed all precautions and that I would not be around my child if there was any risk. He didn;t care he
just wanted me out.