2002 Door Opening Trim
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:32 PM
XOC Still Lives
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:31 PM
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 35 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#277549 - 22/02/08 01:56 AM Brakes ( Pads and Shoes) Suggestions
Anonymous
Unregistered

heya guys, i was curious if anyone had any suggestions here on pads / shoes over the generics, im considernig upping my tire size to a 265/75/R16 and the increased size would be nice to support with good stopping power and pads/shoes that wont give out under hot conditions. Im new to the technology so baby step me if you feel like it. Much appreciated.

One last thing i was wondering, whats the significance of going with a smaller or larger rim with the same overall circumfrance of the tire?

#277550 - 22/02/08 09:48 AM Re: Brakes ( Pads and Shoes) Suggestions
OffroadX Offline

Loc: Baltimore, MD
Your factory brakes are already quite good, the X was rated for a 130 foot 60-0 stop which is better than many sports cars. Adding an inch to your tire size isn't enough to bother with a brake upgrade in my opinion. I just use the factory pads, and the 2nd-cheapest shoes.

As for the smaller wheel inside the same diameter tire, it allows for a softer but possibly sloppier ride, the ability to air down more on the trail, and protects the wheels from damage on the trail. A larger wheel in the same diameter tire has the opposite effects.

Tip: see if your question has already been answered before asking it. Try our handy-dandy search tool!

#277551 - 09/03/08 12:00 PM Re: Brakes ( Pads and Shoes) Suggestions
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hey Brent, would your answear have been different if we were talking about a fairly modded truck, i.e winch, fullset of skids, after market front and rear bumpers, camping gear and tools, extra parts, water/fuel. You know all that extra weight we often carry.