2002 Door Opening Trim
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:32 PM
XOC Still Lives
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:31 PM
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 63 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#327897 - 29/04/03 08:24 PM AAL install this weekend!
test4echo Offline

Loc: Gilbert, AZ
I'm installing SLR's AAL to "thisbus" this weekend and would appreciate any helpful tips you'll might have.
I've read all the available install instructions online, but is there something in those that I might be missing? I've heard the AAL's tend to squeak. Should I grease them? If so, where and how much? These are the things I need to know.

Thanks in advance!
Jeff

I'm a newbie, and proud of it!

#327898 - 29/04/03 08:52 PM Re: AAL install this weekend!
spooky1 Offline

Loc: Maricopa, AZ
Just remember that there is a front and back to the AAL's. Measure from the center bolt hole to the end of the springs and make sure you line them up the same. I am not positive but I think the short end goes in the front (this is where Craig should chime in!). Depending on when and where you are doing the install, I could maybe help early Sunday morning. Also make sure you take the AAL's apart first and give them a coat or two of your favorite color spray paint. They come unfinished from SLR. Are you getting new shocks too?

"Duct tape is like the Force: It has a dark side and a light side - and it holds the universe together."

#327899 - 29/04/03 08:53 PM Re: AAL install this weekend!
spooky1 Offline

Loc: Maricopa, AZ
Oh yeah, they will squeak if you put them in backwards! laugh

"Duct tape is like the Force: It has a dark side and a light side - and it holds the universe together."

#327900 - 30/04/03 08:05 AM Re: AAL install this weekend!
test4echo Offline

No new shocks this time around. Soon though. I'm heading out to Moab in the next couple of weeks, so I will get to put these things to the test.