shrockworks xterraparts
XOC Decal
Newest Members
Glim, ChossWrangler, Patman, ChargedX, Randy Howerton
10084 Registered Users
Recent Posts
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 108 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#427222 - 16/06/07 12:49 AM 2" BL and Shrockworks bumper....
Anonymous
Unregistered

Okay, I'm new to the whole BL/SL thing.

If I do a 2", 2.5", or 3" BL on the X and I want to add a Shrockworks bumper/winch... will the bumper be positioned too low because of the BL?

#427223 - 16/06/07 04:43 AM Re: 2" BL and Shrockworks bumper....
Anonymous
Unregistered

Yes and no. Shrock makes a 2" BL version to fit up better, there is still a gap but it is to allow the truck to flex a bit without rubbing. If you do a 3" BL you will have to get out the plasma cutter laugh

#427224 - 16/06/07 11:52 AM Re: 2" BL and Shrockworks bumper....
Anonymous
Unregistered

So does a SL lift the frame as well?

Meaning.... if I did a 2" BL and a 2" SL, would the Shrockworks bumper mount as normal?

#427225 - 16/06/07 12:12 PM Re: 2" BL and Shrockworks bumper....
Anonymous
Unregistered

No, a body lift does just that: lifts the body farther off the frame. The frame stays where it was so the bumper is 2" lower. Hence why Shrock makes a bumper for a 2" Body Lift.

#427226 - 16/06/07 01:26 PM Re: 2" BL and Shrockworks bumper....
Anonymous
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally posted by Daggerdoggie:
No, a body lift does just that: lifts the body farther off the frame. The frame stays where it was so the bumper is 2" lower. Hence why Shrock makes a bumper for a 2" Body Lift.
So when I see an X with a 3"+ lift and a Shrockworks bumper, that means that the installed drilled new mounting holes for the bumper in order for it to line up properly?

#427227 - 16/06/07 04:36 PM Re: 2" BL and Shrockworks bumper....
Anonymous
Unregistered

Either that, or they leave a gap like I did.