shrockworks xterraparts
XOC Decal
Newest Members
Glim, ChossWrangler, Patman, ChargedX, Randy Howerton
10084 Registered Users
Recent Posts
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 60 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#432442 - 10/11/06 03:39 PM suspension lift question
Anonymous
Unregistered

okay guys, im a super noob to the whole 4x4 thing...so i have a question. what is the easiest possible way for me to lift my x 2 and a half inches.... i have a buddy who knows quite a bit and i work in a machine shop so i was thinking about makein the spacers for the leafs myself....would i have to get new torsion bars? and what else would i need?

thanks
the super noob

#432443 - 10/11/06 07:24 PM Re: suspension lift question
TJ Offline

Loc: Lawrenceville, NJ, USA
making the spacers for the leaves?

why 2.5"?

How about 3"?

Anything over about 1.5"....you'll need new UCA to allow you to get a wheel alignment.

As long as you need new UCA's...might as well go 3".

laugh

A key - question...why are you lifting it?

If its for aesthetics...there are cheaper ways to get the height, and depending upon what you need the X to do for you that it can't now, there are different paths you could take...each with pluses and minuses.

Do you plan on offroading it?

laugh

2001 Xterra '03 VG33, SE 5 spd, 305/70/16's, Revolvers, UBSkidderz, Doubled AAL's, 3"SL/2"BL, winch/bumpers, skids, sliders, OBA, Snorkel, pine stripes....

Friends don't let friends drive stock.

http://www.gifsoup.com/view/501230/tj-tackling-crawlers-ridge-o.gif

#432444 - 11/11/06 07:08 AM Re: suspension lift question
Anonymous
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally posted by hugetanker:
i work in a machine shop so i was thinking about makein the spacers for the leafs myself.
The xterra is spring under axle, so leaf spring blocks (which is what i assume you're talking about) will actually lower the back of the truck, not raise it, like they do for spring over axle.