shrockworks xterraparts
XOC Decal
Newest Members
Glim, ChossWrangler, Patman, ChargedX, Randy Howerton
10084 Registered Users
Recent Posts
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 108 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#481617 - 02/04/08 01:20 PM Buying
Anonymous
Unregistered

I am very close to buying a used Xterra for my daughter. Looking at 05, 06 and 07 years. There seem to be some on the market with low miles and a few have recently popped up from rental agencies.
I am totally new to Nissan and the Xterra. Any helpful hints out there as to what to avoid, what to look for and so on.

Thanks

#481618 - 02/04/08 02:03 PM Re: Buying
Anonymous
Unregistered

I am in a rental car 3 days a week for work and I can assure you...you don't want an ex rental car!

#481619 - 02/04/08 04:26 PM Re: Buying
PDXterra Offline

Loc: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally posted by Ebeauchea:
I am in a rental car 3 days a week for work and I can assure you...you don't want an ex rental car!
x2.

I once got a rental Chevy with less than 500 miles on it.... let's just say I didn't follow the "recommended break in driving habits." There's a reason rental agencies dump cars after the factory warranty runs out.

#481620 - 02/04/08 05:10 PM Re: Buying
Anonymous
Unregistered

I wouldn't be so fast to run from a rental. Not an X but my parents unknowingly (found the Avis sticker by the gas cap) bought a 93 Prism with 60k on it. I drove it when it had 150k on the ticker and the it still ran like new. One thing about rentals, they probably stay on top of regular maintenance regardless of how it was treated as a rental.

That being said, if the price is right (with an extended warranty), go for it.

#481621 - 02/04/08 07:35 PM Re: Buying
Anonymous
Unregistered