shrockworks xterraparts
XOC Decal
Newest Members
Glim, ChossWrangler, Patman, ChargedX, Randy Howerton
10084 Registered Users
Recent Posts
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 85 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#568782 - 12/11/01 11:18 PM Sigh ... newbie blues
superjens Offline

Loc: North Vancouver
So I decided to meet with some other, non Xterra 4x4 group this weekend to hopefully get the scoop on more interesting trails up near Vancouver, BC. It's too bad I still suck as an offroader, I think I gave us a bad name, sorry guys! One of them was nice enough to get me on video on a little rock garden I previously backed away from. I finally made it up without damage (my #1 priority), but I sure didn't make it look easy.

The trail wasn't extremely steep, but it was very wet, tires are stock and over pressured (23 lbs), and like I said I'm still learning. Anyways, without further ado here's my weekend follies entitled "Xterra Woes"

Xterra Woes

#568783 - 13/11/01 12:00 AM Re: Sigh ... newbie blues
XOC Offline
Admin

Loc: Minneapolis, MN
Don't feel too bad, 75% of that was lousy tire with no traction.

25% was lack of finesse and momentum though, which is something I see a lot of with newer drivers.

Watch the video, and notice how often you just about got over something, and backed out of the throttle. The key is feeling exactly where each tire is in relation to obstacles, and just having enough power to get over them, then let out of the throttle slightly to avoid carrying too much speed to the next obstacle.

You should never have to rev the engine that high to start moving. If you have to, you're too far onto the obstacle, and you'll just spin. Back up a bit, let the clutch out at a low rpm, then use that bit of momentum to clear it.