2002 Door Opening Trim
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:32 PM
XOC Still Lives
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:31 PM
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 63 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#657474 - 11/10/06 01:41 PM Maintenance question
Anonymous
Unregistered

First off, let me preface this by saying that I'm not only a new Xterra owner (just bought an 03 XE camo colored last month), but I'm also new to working on cars. I'd like to start doing most of the maintenance on my car, and from what I've been reading, it really shouldn't be that hard. However I do have a few questions.

The maintenance schedule says that it's time to lube the propeller shaft. I read about 75 various posts regarding this, and the general concensus is that the shaft either has a zert thing, a rubber plug, or nothing. Well, mine has a bolt with a mushroom shaped head...kind of like a carriage bolt. Any clue how I'd lubricate that?

Secondly, I was down at the OBX driving up north of Corolla this weekend, and I crossed a few puddles that were probably 2/3 the tire deep. Now, I was only in them for about 1 second each (literally), but I wanted to check the wheel hubs to see if any water got in there. Is there a way to inspect them? Do I have to follow that online guide and take them all apart? Can I just put a glob of lube in the hole of the hub and let it work itself in there, or is it really necessary to take the whole thing apart?

Third, I wanted to check the diff., MT, LSD, and transfer oil, just to make sure everything is A-Okay. Looks like I just open the fill bolt to check the level, and then dribble out a little from the drain to see if there's water in there. However, this may seem dumb, but I don't know where these things are under the car. Anybody have any pictures, diagrams, etc that I can use to locate them?