shrockworks xterraparts
XOC Decal
Newest Members
Glim, ChossWrangler, Patman, ChargedX, Randy Howerton
10084 Registered Users
Recent Posts
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 108 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#661613 - 01/07/03 04:51 PM HELP! Wiper Delay Install
Anonymous
Unregistered

So I am a newb. I have Electroken's rear wiper delay and I am all set to install it. Only problem is I can't find a 12v power (on with ignition) source. He mentions splicing into the cig adapter in the dash. Only problem I can't get to it. I can't figure out how to take off the center consoule plastic trim. Also, I attempted to take the fuse box out but was unsuccessful. Any help?

#661614 - 01/07/03 05:38 PM Re: HELP! Wiper Delay Install
BlueSky Offline

Loc: Georgia
I was in the same boat. I removed the wiper fuse and then replaced it, wedging the end of the power lead in between the fuse prong and the metal piece where it plugs in. Not pretty, but it works.

If anybody else has good advice on this, I'd rather do it the 'right' way.

#661615 - 01/07/03 06:09 PM Re: HELP! Wiper Delay Install
Anonymous
Unregistered

How did you connect the other wires? I went to Radio Shack and bought these "twist on caps". You strip the end of the wire and then twist them together. You then twist this cap on top of it. I have sodered in the past but wasn't comfortable doing it in my X.

If no one replies to the power switch I'll try what you did. I'd rather have it "neater" though. If you know what I mean.

#661616 - 01/07/03 06:11 PM Re: HELP! Wiper Delay Install
ElectroKen Offline

Loc: Shelton, CT
If I had a 2002 or 2003 I could be a bit more specific about where to connect the red wire. My 2000 is different enough that it will be of little help. Still, there must be a dozen valid places to connect it. Maybe the 65 other people that have installed them will chime in.