shrockworks xterraparts
XOC Decal
Newest Members
Glim, ChossWrangler, Patman, ChargedX, Randy Howerton
10084 Registered Users
Recent Posts
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 85 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#677644 - 15/01/12 11:59 AM Newbie Needs Help Regarding Rock Sliders
Karim Offline

Loc: Trenton, NJ, USA
Hello all. I am very new to the off-roading world and Xterras, so any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Just bought a 2012 Pro-4X and would like to add rock sliders to it. Looking at ShrockWorks' product it has options for 1 or 2 tube supports, and options for body-lifted vehicles and not lifted.

My first question is how would I know if my Xterra is "lifted" or not ( it has Bilstein® off-road performance shock absorbers)? Second, would ShrockWorks Rock Slider be compatible with the 2012 model?

Thanks,

Karim

#677645 - 15/01/12 12:29 PM Re: Newbie Needs Help Regarding Rock Sliders [Re: Karim]
TJ Offline

Loc: Lawrenceville, NJ, USA
Originally Posted By: Karim
Hello all. I am very new to the off-roading world and Xterras, so any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Just bought a 2012 Pro-4X and would like to add rock sliders to it. Looking at ShrockWorks' product it has options for 1 or 2 tube supports, and options for body-lifted vehicles and not lifted.

My first question is how would I know if my Xterra is "lifted" or not ( it has Bilstein® off-road performance shock absorbers)? Second, would ShrockWorks Rock Slider be compatible with the 2012 model?

Thanks,

Karim

The Body Lift is a lift done by using larger body mounts between the frame and body. This is primarily to raise the fenders up higher out of the way of larger tires.

As a body lift (BL) makes the body sit a bit higher above the frame than stock, that means that the sliders need to come up higher to protect the rocker panels.