shrockworks xterraparts
XOC Decal
Newest Members
Glim, ChossWrangler, Patman, ChargedX, Randy Howerton
10084 Registered Users
Recent Posts
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 60 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#98995 - 18/10/05 09:45 AM Disclosing Trail Location on the Internet
Anonymous
Unregistered

I am pretty new to the whole off-roading thing and one thing that I was curious about is disclosing trail location on the Internet.

For instance, I know to prevent misuse it's bad etiquette to disclose cave locations in a public forum. I was wondering if the off-road community felt the same way.

I have a couple reasons for asking. One it seems that you can never find trail maps online. Two, I was going to toss a map of each run on my photo gallery from that run. I usually have the GPS with me and since I am a map freak I like to take a look at the route we took on a topo map.

#98996 - 18/10/05 09:53 AM Re: Disclosing Trail Location on the Internet
Anonymous
Unregistered

Disclose away!

There are entire websites dedicated to locations and descriptions of trails.

#98997 - 19/10/05 10:17 AM Re: Disclosing Trail Location on the Internet
Chris Mc Offline

Loc: St Charles, MO
...just so long as the trails are legal. Public lands, or wheeler-friendly landowners only, please. No "this is a contruction site you can go mudding at" (although I'm pretty certain that wasn't your intent). smile

#98998 - 19/10/05 10:37 AM Re: Disclosing Trail Location on the Internet
Anonymous
Unregistered

This is what I had in mind.

Large Image
http://jbeamphotos.com/gallery/WPAXC_Ligonier_10-08-05/WPAXC_Ligonier_10_08_05?full=1

But if you know of any construction site with good mud let me know wink

#98999 - 19/10/05 10:48 AM Re: Disclosing Trail Location on the Internet
TJ Offline

Loc: Lawrenceville, NJ, USA
Hey - A fellow splunker?