shrockworks xterraparts
XOC Decal
Newest Members
Glim, ChossWrangler, Patman, ChargedX, Randy Howerton
10084 Registered Users
Recent Posts
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 60 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#99246 - 21/03/01 09:18 AM Driving over curbs bad for stock tires?
Al_in_NY Offline

Loc: western NY
I've been driving 4x4 trucks for over ten years now, mainly to make my western NY winters worry free. Several times I've had a need to drive over a 4"-6" cement curb. I've done that by driving extremely slowly up to the curb, put it in 4-wheel, then crawl slowly over the curb until all four tires have passed it, then back to 2-wheel. No problems. Lately I've heard that driving over curbs is bad for tires and can damage them. However, I've read many off-road stories about climbing over rocks, which sounds as bad as the curbs. Some questions:

Assuming the stock tires are all season like the General Grabbers, is it a bad idea to drive over 4"-6" cement curbs? If not, is there a "good way" to do it? I assumed that slowly crawling over the curb in 4-wheel was the best way. Any thoughts and/or experiences?

Thanks!

Al

#99247 - 21/03/01 09:27 AM Re: Driving over curbs bad for stock tires?
defibvt Offline

Loc: AZ
I have done this from time to time and I do it like you described. It comes in hand when want to leave a parking lot and not wait in line. I have not noticed any damage to my tires or my X.

------------------
There are only three sports-Mountain climbing, bullfighting, and motor racing-all the others being games. --Ernest "Papa" Hemingway

#99248 - 21/03/01 09:29 AM Re: Driving over curbs bad for stock tires?
xterra2k Offline

Loc: Cin city, Oh.
It would be damaging to drive over the curb at normal driving speed. Like cutting a corner too close.
Hence, now that winter is leaving we are covered up in potholes, which can cause major damage.

------------------
Lance
Silver XE 3 packages