Glim, ChossWrangler, Patman, ChargedX, Randy Howerton
10084 Registered Users
Recent Posts
ECXC 2024!
by Tom
10/05/24 09:56 AM
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 232 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#32280 - 05/07/05 01:49 PM Things to look for when buying a used Xterra
Anonymous
Unregistered

Im looking at a 4x4 2000 Xterra with 62k miles on it. What are some things I should look for when deciding if its been taken care of and its a good deal? Anything specific to x's? They want $11k for it and kbb and nada say its around $14k so it seems like a good deal but im not a mechanic. I know my way around a car but would like to hear what you experts have to say.

#32281 - 05/07/05 01:57 PM Re: Things to look for when buying a used Xterra
Anonymous
Unregistered

Take a good hard look underneath and see if there are any scratches dents or dings. Look at the transmission, transfercase and the bottom of the engine for leaks. Check the right side exhaust manifold while cold for leaks. Check all the windows for proper operation. After you do that spend some money to have an independent mechanic to take a look at in and while he's doing that run a carfax report on it to see if there is anything else hidden in it's history.

#32282 - 05/07/05 02:23 PM Re: Things to look for when buying a used Xterra
Anonymous
Unregistered

I'll just add one thing. After a test drive, w/the a/c on, shut the engine off, pop the hood, and feel the inner surface of the radiator. It s/b evenly hot/warm. Any cold spots and there's a clog, which could be an indication of past or future overheating.

#32283 - 05/07/05 02:45 PM Re: Things to look for when buying a used Xterra
Anonymous
Unregistered

definetly have a mechanic look at, can save alot of headaches and money in the future.If they don't want to let you take it to a mechanic there probably hiding something, good luck.