Glim, ChossWrangler, Patman, ChargedX, Randy Howerton
10084 Registered Users
Recent Posts
ECXC 2024!
by Tom
23/04/24 04:27 PM
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 131 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#586328 - 10/09/07 08:23 AM Swimmers Ear
warlock Offline

Loc: Springfield VA
Any advise...this moring my ear was in pain muffled hearing.
went to frederick hospital got some antibiotics and ear drops.
funny thing is i have not even gone swimming.

Just wondering if anybody had it, what do you do to cure it and how long it took for recovery.

#586329 - 10/09/07 08:41 AM Re: Swimmers Ear
Trihead Offline

Loc: Austin Texas
I have been swimming competitively for about 25 years now and have had it a few dozen times. What kind of drops did they give you? It should be better in a week or so depending on how bad it is.

#586330 - 10/09/07 10:53 AM Re: Swimmers Ear
warlock Offline

They gave me a baush and lomb Neomycin and polymyxin B Sulfates and Hydrocortisoone otic solution USP

Amoxicillin 500mg

and hydrocodone-apap5-500

just reading from the bottles

correct me if im wrong it takes a week but when do you get most of your hearing back? what drive me nuts is the muffled sound.

Thanks

#586331 - 10/09/07 02:23 PM Re: Swimmers Ear
jaws_o_life Offline

Loc: RVA
Swimmer's Ear is the layman's term often applied for Otitis Externa; an outer ear infection. The medications you've be prescribed are acting on the malady in three ways:

Hydrocodone is to offer some pain control and act as an antipyretic (fever control, if you have one).

Neomycin is a combination antibiotic/antiinflammatory suspension. It will help treat the causitive organism and decrease the inflammation in the area.

The Amoxicillin is another antibiotic to attack the causitive bug.