Glim, ChossWrangler, Patman, ChargedX, Randy Howerton
10084 Registered Users
Recent Posts
ECXC 2024!
by Tom
23/04/24 04:27 PM
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 131 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#620896 - 11/06/08 01:21 PM Thinking about selling my home - buying a new home... tips?
mineralblue Offline

Loc: Downtown Houston, TX
So I've been living in the same 1 bedroom condo since I started law school way back in the fall of 2004.

Now that I am out of law school and married, we are thinking about getting a new home just in time as our ARM is about to expire in July 2009.

I financed it on an adjustable rate mortgage (ARM) that will have its rate adjusting beginning July 2009 - about one year from now.

Faced with an unpredictable rate adjustment, and the desire to move into something with more space, I am now beginning to look around for a new home.

I'm new to this game... any tips? should I look for a new home now? should I move out of my condo and think about selling it now while I live in an apt?

Thanks for any tips...

#620897 - 11/06/08 01:23 PM Re: Thinking about selling my home - buying a new home... tips?
Anonymous
Unregistered

Whatever you do, don't go the two mortgage route. That is a recipe for bankruptcy and lots of heartache.

#620898 - 11/06/08 01:23 PM Re: Thinking about selling my home - buying a new home... tips?
Anonymous
Unregistered

Unless you can afford two mortgages, I'd really work on selling what you have first. This might mean finding a place to live in the interim, but the good thing you have going for you is that today's market is fully a buyer's market, and financing into fixed rate loans is cheap.

Not sure what you got into your condo for, but since you bought in 2004, don't be surprised if you take a loss on it....at least try to get out of it what you owe. Of course, that depends on how the market is where you are.