Glim, ChossWrangler, Patman, ChargedX, Randy Howerton
10084 Registered Users
Recent Posts
ECXC 2024!
by Tom
23/04/24 04:27 PM
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 131 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#297858 - 02/09/01 10:13 AM Magnetic Antenna Mounts
pepper kay Offline

Loc: TX
I'm ready to install my CB and ham radio and wonder if anyone has experience with mag mounts ? ...

I don't want to drill holes in the roof of my truck so hope a mag mount is a viable alternative ...

The few I've seen appear to be substantial enough but I've no experience with them and wonder if they really will hold the antenna secure to the roof of the truck ...

Can you put an easy-over mount between the mag and the antenna base ?? ...

Suggestions ?? ...

Thanks,

#297859 - 02/09/01 10:21 AM Re: Magnetic Antenna Mounts
defibvt Offline

Loc: AZ
Pepper, I have used magnetic mounts in the past and they work very well. The only thing to watch for is to not scratch the paint.

As for an easy over, I am not sure if you can put one on a magnetic mount.

#297860 - 02/09/01 10:25 AM Re: Magnetic Antenna Mounts
catering chef Offline

Loc: Burnsville,MN
when i was younger I used mag mounts and i found them to move and Scratch the paint.
I have a cargo basket on my X I used a side mirror cb mount to the left rear of the basket with an easy over, ran the cable down the inside of the hatch to the rear lights then into the truck thru the left rear brake light under the carpet and back seat to the front seat. I have a cobra 75. it is solid driving at 70mph with alittle whistle at 15mph. works great!
what kind of ham are you installing? 10 meter or 2 meter?
whats your call sign?

[ 09-02-2001: Message edited by: catering chef ]

#297861 - 02/09/01 10:26 AM Re: Magnetic Antenna Mounts
Griffin's_Girl Offline

Pepper,