2002 Door Opening Trim
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:32 PM
XOC Still Lives
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:31 PM
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 139 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#495092 - 03/03/10 04:09 PM Body Lift Install Cost??
IFS Xterra Offline

I'm on my 3rd X ('09) and this will be the first one I plan on doing some mild mods. I've read a lot on suspension vs body lifts and i'm pretty sure a body lift is more suited for what i'm interested in. Since i'm not a mechanic and not inclined to install my own BL, how much does something like that cost to have someone else do the work. I'm interested in a 2" lift and i've read I don't need to relocate anything under the hood so I know that will cut down on cost.

Any info would help, thanks.

#495097 - 04/03/10 02:43 AM Re: Body Lift Install Cost?? [Re: IFS Xterra]
swampwrecker Offline

Loc: Brunswick, GA
Installing a body lift is extensive work. I would expect a shop would charge a minimum of 6-8 hours for the install. Multiply that by what the shop charges per hour and you have a ball park figure. I would expect the finish product would end up costing more than the 6-8 hours.

You don't need to be mechanically inclined to install a body lift. The bulk of the work is just disconnecting everything that connects the body and frame. Lifting the body is relatively easy with a stable check. Then just reconnect everything. It does help to have a friend or two to lend a hand.

-Michael

#495112 - 04/03/10 01:08 PM Re: Body Lift Install Cost?? [Re: swampwrecker]
marty m Offline

Loc: Bay area, Ca.