Glim, ChossWrangler, Patman, ChargedX, Randy Howerton
10084 Registered Users
Recent Posts
ECXC 2024!
by Tom
23/04/24 04:27 PM
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 162 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#442992 - 16/05/06 12:55 PM computer help....fan wont go off
Anonymous
Unregistered

ok so bear with me here, i'm not very good with computers, i actually hate them unless they're working properly lol but i just upgraded my operating system from Windows ME to XP pro....now the fan that goes on when i turn the computer on (i dont know if its a processor fan or some other fan :rolleyes: ) wont turn off, or slow down. usually what happened before was, it booted up and it would run for a while, then if no programs were running, the fan would shut off, now its on at all times. does anyone know what going on with it?

#442993 - 16/05/06 01:29 PM Re: computer help....fan wont go off
Chris Mc Offline

Loc: St Charles, MO
You might not have the vendor-specific driver installed for your motherboard. Check with the PC manufacturer to see if they have an XP driver for the system board your computer uses.

#442994 - 16/05/06 03:01 PM Re: computer help....fan wont go off
NismoXse02 Offline

Loc: The Woodlands, TX
Yeah, sounds specific towards your particular computer. I never had a computer where the fan turned off. For my computers... if it turned off, that means it's a bad thing. Also, if yours was designed to turn off, that might mean that the computer is at an acceptible temperature. I would make sure you clean out all dust and make sure no holes are clogged. I don't know, just a suggestion.

#442995 - 16/05/06 03:49 PM Re: computer help....fan wont go off
Anonymous
Unregistered

I guess your computer is like my work PC. It monitors temperature and modulates the fan foltage to compensate. It never truly turns off, but can go nearly silent.