Glim, ChossWrangler, Patman, ChargedX, Randy Howerton
10084 Registered Users
Recent Posts
ECXC 2024!
by Tom
23/04/24 04:27 PM
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 131 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#102541 - 09/04/08 09:19 AM Ohio snow in a 4x2
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hi, all - I'm a noob with a 2002 4x2 XE v6.

I know that this subject is probably a little bit exhausted, but I keep reading somewhat contradicting opinions about this subject.

This is the first RWD I've ever owned, and I haven't driven it in the snow yet. Here in southern Ohio, we get some pretty wet and sometimes icy snows in the winter.

Some have said that the 4x2's are worthless in snow... others said that if you put a little weight in the back it will haul a**.

So what's a chick to think? I'm pretty nervous... and it's not even summer yet, let alone winter!

...if anyone has any tips about driving it in the snow, let me know that, too! laugh

#102542 - 09/04/08 09:40 AM Re: Ohio snow in a 4x2
Anonymous
Unregistered

all terrain tires (pref. BFG A/T's), and chains as far as just driving around. i think one of the last things you wanna be doing in the snow with 2wd is hauling ass, unless you're in a big ass open area where you can't slide into anything.

#102543 - 09/04/08 09:51 AM Re: Ohio snow in a 4x2
Anonymous
Unregistered

Someone recently pointed me to the Bridgestone Blizzak for winter driving in the Xterra... I take it you're suggesting an A/T over a winter tire altogether, or just the BFG A/T's specifically?

Thanks for the response!

#102544 - 09/04/08 12:24 PM Re: Ohio snow in a 4x2
Anonymous
Unregistered