2002 Door Opening Trim
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:32 PM
XOC Still Lives
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:31 PM
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 113 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#176493 - 10/04/01 07:07 AM 4 Step Program from Meguiars?
SpaceAce77 Offline

Loc: Bethpage, NY
Hey:

Checked out the Meguiars web site. They detail a four step program...Wash, Clear Coat prep/swirl reducer, Deep Crystal system polish, and Clear Coat Wax.

I've only had my truck, it will be a week today...Is the Clear Coat Prep thing necessary? Also, when applying these things, is there any sort of time frame that I need to wait, or can I just go one after the other? I'm a total newbie at this stuff, and I've never had a "brand new" vehicle, so I wanna make sure I'm doing this right...Thanks!

------------------

#176494 - 10/04/01 07:27 AM Re: 4 Step Program from Meguiars?
mindie Offline

Loc: Portland, OR
As I understand it, the Step 1 (Paint prep/cleaner) is not always necessary. I think the recommendation is to use it twice a year - in the spring and in the fall. Don't worry about this spring. Start in the fall.

As far as applying the things, put the first on, take it off, put the second on, take it off, etc. There's no reason (that I know of) to wait in between applications of the various products. You may want to apply and remove the polish/wax/etc in sections because the X is so large.

Someone be sure to jump in if anything I've said is inaccurate!

------------------
Mindie - AIM: mindiejoynt
2001 Silver Ice, 4x4 Auto SE

#176495 - 10/04/01 07:36 AM Re: 4 Step Program from Meguiars?
rob in Austin Offline

Loc: the womb of an angry jackal
Dude,