2002 Door Opening Trim
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:32 PM
XOC Still Lives
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:31 PM
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 139 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#177367 - 30/12/01 11:53 AM Can a block of 99% pure Zinc help prevent rust?
LastRites Offline

Loc: 6012 feet up....
This is quite an interesting idea if it proves to be valid. One of the moderators on a car BBS I frequent has installed a 1"x1"x1/2" block of 99% pure Zinc to the undercarriage of his vehicle saying that this can aid in corrosion prevention. Sounds a little out there but I'm no mineral expert either. The idea has been used by the RAAF to prevent corrosion on aircraft and is apparently quite successful. Anyway, surely someone on XOC has at least a high school education, or perhaps a GED and can shed some light on this Zinc theory for me. laugh

*Nope my X is fine, the only rust I have found is exhaust related parts for the most part, but I'd also like to pursue this if it works to keep it that way.

#177368 - 30/12/01 04:55 PM Re: Can a block of 99% pure Zinc help prevent rust?
troyboy Offline

Loc: nh
an "anode" or "annode" i think is what we used to call them, never heard of any commerical or civilan use thou...

#177369 - 30/12/01 06:11 PM Re: Can a block of 99% pure Zinc help prevent rust?
LastRites Offline

Sounds a little strange after I did some research today but have placed an inquiry with the International Zinc Association (yes its real) to get some more insight.

#177370 - 30/12/01 10:14 PM Re: Can a block of 99% pure Zinc help prevent rust?
Kerensky97 Offline

Loc: Utah
That's similar to what they do in hot water heaters. Not sure exactly how it works though.
I'm wondering if it would still work with all the current running through the chassis on the way back to the battery ground.

Xterra101.com

#177371 - 30/12/01 10:26 PM Re: Can a block of 99% pure Zinc help prevent rust?
Strom Offline