2002 Door Opening Trim
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:32 PM
XOC Still Lives
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:31 PM
Shout Box

Who's Online
1 registered (Tom), 46 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#418645 - 16/09/05 10:04 AM IFS vs. Live Axle
Anonymous
Unregistered

I'm a newbie with a question for those more knowledgeable. Is a live axle always better that IFS. If so why? Wouldn't IFS give you more ground clearance if you lift the truck, at least for the front end. If live axles are so great, why does the original Hummer (the ultimate off roader?) have IFS?

#418646 - 16/09/05 10:32 AM Re: IFS vs. Live Axle
socalpunx Offline

Loc: The land of losers and liberal...
The H1 is designed to travel a variety of vast terrain and do it at speed. IFS is MOST instances is a better option for speed and controll. The H1 is equipped with locking differentials, great approach and departure angles and 37" (I believe could be 35" but I'm pretty sure they are 37") tires to further aid in ground clearance.

IFS generally has more controll due to the fact that each tire acts independantly as opposed to a straight axle in which one wheel will act and react to what the other wheel is doing.

The advantages of the axle are strength at extreme angles of articualtion and fewer small breakable parts. With the simplicity of the design you can safely get more ride height and tire clearance from a SA without the use of drop down brackets and with it larger tires and more articulation without sacraficing strength and reliability. That's why you will see more dedicated rock crawling and mud bogging vehicles with a SA.