2002 Door Opening Trim
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:32 PM
XOC Still Lives
by OffroadX
01/04/24 08:31 PM
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 139 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#421992 - 02/09/04 09:59 AM Widening vs Lifts
Ramstein92 Offline

Loc: Frisco, Tx
Not sure if this is 'suspension' related or not, but discussion on another board has me wondering...

(Oh, NOTE: I am by no means a mechanical genius, so Tred Lightly! smile )

Adding too much lift to one's vehicle can raise your center of gravity 'high' enough that tip-overs can become a serious issue. One way to counter act height is width. So, why are there no 'kits' that allow for the widening of a wheelbase? Kinda like the original Hummer in that it is, relatively speaking, squat and fat. It would seem that if you went 'high' you could counter act it with width.

Yes, you can get wider tires, but not at the rate you would need to counter say 6 inches of lift. (I *think* the ratio is 2:1 width:height)

Is the main deal cost, as you would need new axles? Or does one counter act lift with wider tires and adjusting the backspacing of your wheels?

Now, I know going wide means your vehicle would not be street legal, but that is not the concern here. I am just curious as to why no such kit is available (or maybe it is, and I just have not heard of it.)

Thoughts?
SWXC Member #61
Stop plate tectonics!

#421993 - 02/09/04 10:09 AM Re: Widening vs Lifts
Anonymous
Unregistered

As I see it, widening the vehicle to keep the same ratio as when it was stock, after lifting, would end up being counter-productive. A lot of trails are very narrow (thanks to the Jeepers). So you can realistically only widen the vehicle to a point, and any more than that, it becomes impossible to fit on the trails.

That's why you don't see many full-size offroad vehicles (other than the pansy show trucks). They're just way too wide to go on the trails.